ASP with !Chilisoft....Newbie Questions.

Thread: ASP with !Chilisoft....Newbie Questions.

Mortekai Guest

Default ASP with !Chilisoft....Newbie Questions.

Hi there, i am new to the field of ASP and my webhost have just installed an ASP emulator from !Chilisoft ( and now i am trying to set up some ASP pages.<BR><BR>There seem to be many ways to do this and i find myself running around in circles here...:(<BR><BR>What i need is help with the 4 basics in ASP and database management: Display, Edit, Add and Delete. If someone could help me with these i would be eternally grateful.<BR><BR>Acoording to Levonline (my webhost) this is a way to display a Dbase5 database:<BR>&#060;%<BR>Sub DisplayResults( rs )<BR><BR> response.write "&#060;P&#062;&#060;TABLE BORDER=1&#062;&#060;TR&#062;"<BR><BR> &#039; Write column names in the header<BR> For i = 0 to rs.Fields.Count - 1<BR> response.write "&#060;TD&#062;&#060;B&#062;"<BR> response.write rs(i).Name<BR> response.write "&#060;/B&#062;&#060;/TD&#062;"<BR> Next<BR><BR> response.write "&#060;/TR&#062;"<BR><BR> &#039; Loop thrue all records and write fields in the table<BR> Do While Not rs.EOF<BR><BR> response.write "&#060;TR&#062;"<BR><BR> For i = 0 to rs.Fields.Count - 1<BR> response.write "&#060;TD VALIGN=TOP&#062;"<BR><BR> if IsNull(rs(i).Value) then<BR> response.write "Null"<BR> else<BR> response.write rs(i).Value<BR> end if<BR><BR> response.write "&#060;/TD&#062;"<BR> Next<BR><BR> response.write "&#060;/TR&#062;"<BR><BR> rs.MoveNext<BR> Loop<BR><BR> response.write "&#060;/TABLE&#062;"<BR><BR>End Sub<BR><BR>set conn = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")<BR>conn.Op en "Driver={Dbase};DBQ=/home/userA/a00xxx00/public_html/map_name;<BR>defaultDir=/home/userA/a00xxx00/public_html/map_name"<BR><BR>set rs = conn.Execute("SELECT * FROM databasfil")<BR><BR>DisplayResults(rs)<BR><BR>%&#0 62;<BR><BR>This works well for me, but i find it hard to alter the layout of the table and i would like to use a table within the table...:(<BR><