Connection Pooling and other tips...

Thread: Connection Pooling and other tips...

John Harvey Guest

Default Connection Pooling and other tips...

Hi,<BR> I have been developing in ASP for 6 months now, and the webs I have created are considerably more stable than many of the other webs we host which rely on PERL. We are having some major problems with ActivePERL and with PERLex. I have been asked to look into what advantages there would be in moving our web to ASP, and rewriting most of the main pages to ASP and eliminating the PERL scripts which run.<BR> The question I&#039d like to ask is how can I optimize IIS for ASP. I have read about increasing the threads for ASP, and I understand there are other optimizations that can be achieved by connection pooling. What exactly is connection pooling, and are there any other ideas you guys know of to optimize the server for ASP. (We run a dual Pentium III 500 with 256MB Ram, on a 20 GB SCSI RAID).<BR>Thanks in advance,<BR>John Harvey

Sam Otto Guest

Default RE: Connection Pooling and other tips...

ODBC drivers (version 3.0 and higher) pool their DB connections internally so every time you request a new connection, you don&#039t actually have to connect to the DB (you just get a previous connection if there is one available).<BR><BR>As far as more performance stuff, from what I&#039ve read, besides the two you mentioned they are all just good programming rules:<BR>1) Minimize your queries<BR>2) If you get a value out of a record set (or any collection) multiple times, get it out once into a variable and use the variable from then on.<BR>3) Use Response.buffer=true<BR>4) Avoid ReDimming arrays<BR>5) Don&#039t keep Objects in your Session Object<BR>6) Batch Response.write stmts (try to minimze intermixing HTML and VB)