A sort of authentication question...

Thread: A sort of authentication question...

Default A sort of authentication question...

I just had a question about a username/password method i am using for an asp application that I recently wrote. I am a student worker at monmouth university and I was asked to write a sort of scheduling progrom for the psychology department. I would far from consider myself an asp expert as everything I have learned is self taught from books and various projects we have done here. This project for psychology was my first attempt at a real sort of application to be used by faculty and students, it was sort of scarry :)<BR><BR>The gyst of the application is pretty much graduate students need to make projects for freshmen intro to psych students to sign up for and then check off their attendendce, keep track of credits and times the projects are running on. Then the student can come in and look at a calendar with all the times of projects and sign up for them, and finally an admin who can do anything pretty much. Theres a lot more to it then that but thats probably more then most of you care to hear about it :)<BR><BR>Our method for a name and password system was to store each person&#039;s login and password in the sequel database. When you log in from a strait html page it passes on your name/pass. On the top of each page there is an include that gets the name and password, queries the database to see if they exist there and match up and if they are NOT there, shows a small little "please login again and such message", otherwise just shows the page. So each page is just encaplisated in a big if then else end if statement.<BR><BR> Also each page has a small form with hidden elements called name and pass to be submitted any time the user changes pages (ie clicks on a link). So if the student want to say go from thier info page to a calendar page we have a small javascript that submits the password form to the calendar page so the valdation w