Creating database for a Yellow Pages site

Thread: Creating database for a Yellow Pages site

Sukhwinder Singh Guest

Default Creating database for a Yellow Pages site

Hello Everyone,<BR> I am facing a big problem. I am relatively new to web development and I am facing a big challenge. On this project my carrier depends. I have to create a site similar to a directory (yellow pages site). I want to know how should I manage main categories and subcategories tables. I want to know how many SQL tables I have to create.<BR> For example when a user clicks a bike on a yellow pages site. Then subcatetoris are displayed. When we click a link in a directory it displays sub categories and when we click a sub-category it displays more subcategories and so on utill there is no sub-category.<BR> For example if I have a main category like Bikes and under that category we can have bi-cycles and motor cycles and under bi-cycles we can have mountain bikes and normal bikes etc.<BR><BR> So I have to create a two tables:<BR> 1. A table containing company information named CompanyInfo.<BR> 2. A table containing product information and subcategories.<BR><BR> CompanyInfo Table might look like:<BR> <BR> CompanyInfo<BR> ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------<BR> CompanyID &#124CompanyName &#124 CompanyDec&#124 Address &#124 City &#124 State &#124 Country &#124 ZipCode<BR> ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------<BR> 001 &#124 ABC Ltd. &#124 Manf. of abc&#124 511 &#124 Jalandhar &#124 Punjab &#124 India &#124 144008<BR><BR> And it is the second table which is causing confusion. I am not able to think what should be the fields of second table. According to me second table might contain these fields.<BR><BR><BR> Categories<BR> -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------<BR> CompanID &#124 Products &#124 MainCategory &#124 SubCategory &#