Traditional RDBMS vs XML datastore(s): Opinions on

Thread: Traditional RDBMS vs XML datastore(s): Opinions on

Patrick Barnes Guest

Default Traditional RDBMS vs XML datastore(s): Opinions on

I am new to XML and in charge of designing an ASP 3.0 site for a chain of hospitals. These hospitals do not need to use an industry Schema as they are not exchanging patient records or other like data that has schema designed for them. Rather, most of the functionality centers around querying a database to get patient personal data (of a non-health record type), health provider data, etc. and database administration functions (add, update, delete). Nothing too difficult. But my reading in XML of late has led me to consider not going with the traditional SQL Server database, complete with foreign keys and reduced to the 3rd normal form (a lot of work). I&#039m seriously considering going with XML documents to store all the data, and perhaps use SQL Server only to store the XML datastream and a few keywords for quick access (hence jettisoning the time and effort needed to design and maintain a complex RDBMS).<BR> <BR>Any thoughts from those experienced with XML on whether the XML datastore idea is definitely the way to go; what it&#039s pitfalls might be; etc.? I&#039d appreciate pointers to any technical articles you may have run across, too. I&#039ve searched my typical ASP sources but can&#039t find much that would be of use in making such a strategic design decision. I eagerly await Wrox Press&#039s forthcoming *Professional XLM Databases*, due out in December.<BR> <BR>Thanks,<BR>Patrick Barnes<BR>Web Application Developer<BR>Geonetric Technologies, LLC<BR> <BR>

Default RE: Traditional RDBMS vs XML datastore(s): Opinion