manipulating text from form

Thread: manipulating text from form

yvidan Guest

Default manipulating text from form

I really hope someone can help out because I am about to lose what is left of my hair out of fraustration. <BR><BR>I am an asp programmer working with databases but the problem I am having trouble with is due to the language of my interfaces which is hebrew. <BR><BR>Hebrew is written from right to left and crossplatform programming is a lot more trickier with this language. <BR><BR>in order for IE and Netscape users be able to view text correctly, one needs to use logical hebrew . . meaning <BR><BR>if I was to write a sentence <BR>"my dog ate my homework" in hebrew it sould be <BR>"krowemoh ym eta god ym" <BR><BR>and only this way could the viewers see it correctly unless I use visual hebrew and then only IE users can view it correctly. <BR><BR>So your saying: "just get the string an reverse it" right <BR>WRONG: if I do that the sentence will reverse but the wrapping get screwed up. for expamle, If i use along line it will break from bottom to top resulting in something along these lines: <BR><BR>krowemh ym eta <BR>god ym <BR><BR>The ideal script will be able to: get a variable of n number of character in each line, break it up accordingly and then reverse the text. <BR><BR><BR>I decided to try the following solution for the task but the code is acting funny. <BR><BR><BR>-------------------------------------------------- <BR><BR>&#060;html&#062; <BR>&#060;head&#062; <BR>&#060;title&#062;alternative medicine - main page&#060;/title&#062; <BR>&#060;meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-8"&#062; <BR>&#060;!-- &#060;META content="text/html; charset=windows-1255" http-equiv=Content-Type&#062; --&#062; <BR>&#060;/head&#062; <BR><BR>&#060;body&#062; <BR><BR><BR><BR><BR><BR><BR>&#060;% <BR>text = request.form("text") <BR>text = Trim(text) <BR>%&#062; <BR><BR>&#060;form action="textareatmp.asp" method="post" enctype="text"&#062; <