Session variables

Thread: Session variables

Default Session variables

I am pretty new to asp, so please bear with me. I&#039ve been told that using session variables in asp is bad, but don&#039t fully understand why? They seem to make everything easier. What is so wrong with them? :)<BR><BR>TIA

Ian Stallings Guest

Default RE: Session variables

The reason is this - each created object takes up a certain<BR>amount of memory on the server. Each time someone accesses<BR>a page with a session object being created it becomes a <BR>performance issue. If your site gets a small amount of<BR>hits then it wont matter. But good coding practices calling<BR>for scalable code, try to stay away from the session object<BR>and instead consider using the GET method or storing variables<BR>in a temporary cookie. I hope this helps.<BR><BR><BR>

B.H.Carr Guest

Another reason you may have heard that Session variables are bad is the fact that they rely on cookies!<BR><BR>Due to past hype, many people believe cookies are bad, and therefore, disable them. They&#039re scared of potential security risks.<BR><BR>Session variables use client-side cookies. If the user has cookies disabled, your site will not function for them.<BR><BR>B.H.Carr

F. Louali Guest

Hello,<BR>I am new to asp and I wonder how to keep the good coding practices on an e-commerce site.<BR>We have multiple users selecting multiple items at the same time.<BR>Is it possible to do that using GET or cookies?<BR><BR>Thank you for your time,<BR><BR>Farid<BR>