Simple authentication "Will this work?"

Thread: Simple authentication "Will this work?"

Kim Andersen Guest

Default Simple authentication "Will this work?"

I am converting some databases to asp pages, and want to implement security. After reading several articles I have come to the conclusion that i dont want to use session or cookies, because they are not secure enough.<BR><BR>In all my access databases i run a function on each form that checks the database to see if they are allowed in.<BR><BR>I would like to convert this to asp in this way:<BR>After they have succesfully logged in a hidden textfield on each page is set equal to their access level. When a new page is being loaded i use the request form to see if their user level is good enough, and set the new pages hidden field equal to their access level.<BR><BR>I am not very experienced in www security matters and would like to know:<BR><BR>a. Will this work?<BR>b. How secure is it?<BR>c. Any other thoughts<BR><BR>Kim Helmer Andersen

Default RE: Simple authentication

I would think that this is not very secure at all as anybody can View the source of a page and look at the value of the hidden field. What they could do with this info , you will know, but I would not think it is very can set cookies to being secure by setting the SECURE seeting on them...I have not used it myself though. Also, if you don&#039t set an expiration date for a cookie, it is stored in memory and not on the users hard drive and will expire when the browser session ends. <BR><BR>Hope this helps.

Default RE: Simple authentication