JavaScript question - displaying an image name

Thread: JavaScript question - displaying an image name

Default JavaScript question - displaying an image name

Hello all. I&#039m a experienced developer with VBScript but an absolute novice with JavaScript. I spent the last couple hours trying to answer my own question but could really use a little help.<BR><BR>On a web page I am using JavaScript to call in a randomly selected image from another page at timed intervals. Each image actually represents a separate advertiser. I can serve the image fine, but aside from showing the image I need to associate a URL with it to handle a click-through. The simplified script is as follows:<BR>----------------<BR>&#060;html&#062;<BR>&#060;head&#062;<BR>&#060; SCRIPT LANGUAGE=JAVASCRIPT&#062;<BR><BR>/* The next line returns the path to an image that is selected at random. It has to be this way because the collection of images to choose from is dynamic. Otherwise, I&#039d hardcode them */<BR><BR>var adImages = new Array("fetch_an_image.asp");<BR><BR>/* I deleted the code here to save on space. It basically takes the image from the array and makes sure a new one is chosen every x seconds. */<BR><BR>function GetURL() {<BR><BR>/*here is where I want to return a valid URL but am having trouble*/<BR><BR> if (adImages[thisAd]= "../images/image1.gif") <BR> {<BR> return "";<BR> }<BR> if (adImages[thisAd] = "../images/image2.gif") <BR> {<BR> return "";<BR> }<BR>}<BR>&#060;/SCRIPT&#062;<BR>&#060;/head&#062;<BR>&#060;BODY onLoad="cycle()"&#062;<BR>&#060;a href="" onClick="this.href=GetURL()" onMouseOver="self.status=&#039Text Here&#039;return true"&#062;<BR>&#060;img src="starter_image.gif" name="adBanner" width=170 height=45&#062;&#060;/a&#062;<BR>&#060;/body&#062;<BR>&#060;/html&#062;<BR>------------<BR>When I try to display the current image using<BR> document.write (adImages[thisAd])<BR>I literally see "fetch_an_image.asp", regardless of the image that gets served. I want it to show "../