Form - How can I maintain state?

Thread: Form - How can I maintain state?

John D. Guest

Default Form - How can I maintain state?

I have a fairly straightforward form page I am putting together for a project. I have a form page that has entry fields for quantity, part number, name, address, city, etc.<BR>The form is like a shopping cart, where the visitor can navigate through the catalog and add 1 or more items to the form along with shipping information.<BR>The problem is that the form is cleared each time the visitor leaves the form page, navigates the catalog and returns to the form via a hyperlink to the form from different asp pages.<BR>From the information I have gathered on this subject from this and other web sites, it appears that the form is losing "state".<BR>I have found various snippets of code examples, cookies, but nothing comprehensive and straightforward.<BR>I am rather new to asp and scripting and I would greatly appreciate if anyone can help.<BR>Thanks in advance,<BR>John

Keith Fowler Guest

Default RE: Form - How can I maintain state?

Well, John! Welcome to the ASP world. Glad to have you. You will want to investigate the many resources available out here in cyberspace. During your investigation, look for information on the Application Object and the Session Object. Through these two wonderful objs you can maintain state throughout the App, or the Session. One place to start is www.learnasp.com.

John D. Guest