Thread: Developer

Mike Yu Guest

Default Developer

Hi There,<BR><BR>I am a Java developer but new to asp and com technologies. I have some questions related to these technologies and wonder if anybody can help me out with them:<BR><BR>1. My general impression of this asp -- Java components communication methodology is based on the com object communication technologies. If that&#039s the case, I would assume the Java class must be registered with the window registry. But I can&#039t seem to find this information through either registry or OLE viewer tool (under Java classes). Is the Java component a true com object? I would like to have an insight into how Microsoft jvm magically turns a plain Java class into a com-like (automation) server and enables asp page to instantiate it using getObject() method and make use of it.<BR><BR>2. If I have an asp page calling the Java component and leave the instance alive throughout. I guess the Java component is (for one time) instantiated (via the VBScript getObject() method) and then lives (together with the jvm in which the Java component is instantiated) in the asp application process. How does asp (or perhaps more accurately IIS) handle multiple threads corresponding to requests, and what are some of the issues (if any) when we code the Java components so that it works within IIS/ASP threading model and is also thread safe? My assumption is that the Java component, as a single instance, is being accessed by the same multiple threads in which asp calls come in. In the project I am working on, this Java component serves as kind of a gateway from which requests are made to database or remote middle ware (also written in Java in a servlet environment) for further processing. Thread safety is critical since there are (financial) transacions involved for a given session.<BR><BR>I am not sure if I made my questions clear. I would appreciate it greatly if I could be point in the right direction regarding above issues. Maybe some r