Basic(?) SQL question

Thread: Basic(?) SQL question

Chris Goldfarb Guest

Default Basic(?) SQL question

Greetings,<BR><BR>I am relatively new at SQL. I am running into the following error when attempting to execute this SQL statement:<BR><BR>select opponent, firstname, lastname, email from opponents where number=(select opponent from matches where gameNum=38)<BR><BR>Microsoft JET Database Engine error &#039 80040e10&#039 <BR><BR>No value given for one or more required parameters <BR><BR>/myDir/myFile.asp, line 75 <BR><BR>I am using Access 2000. I have two tables: One called opponents which contains user information (and a unique record number), and one called matches, which contains three fields: a unique record number, a game number, and an opponent number. The opponent number field in the matches table refers to the unique record number in the opponents table.<BR><BR>I have gone into Access and "joined" these tables appropriately (I think), where the opponent number field in the matches table links to the unique opponent number in the opponents table.<BR><BR>In a nutshell, I am trying to retrieve a recordset of opponents who are assigned to a specific game (in the case above, game #38). I can&#039t simply add a game number field in the opponents table, because each opponent can be involved in more than one game.<BR><BR>I appreciate any help - thanks in advance!<BR><BR>Chris Goldfarb<BR><BR>www.warplanner.c om<BR>

David Highlander Guest

Default RE: Basic(?) SQL question