CheckBoxList and CSV

Thread: CheckBoxList and CSV

Default CheckBoxList and CSV

Newbie here. Not doing code behind (yet :) Hand coding everything... <BR><BR>I have a series of pages that collect registration data from a visitor. At the end, the visitor is is able to review and edit their info. My question pertains to checkboxlist controls (which allow for multiple selections).<BR><BR>I have a checkboxlist control that is binded to a database look-up table. The checkboxlist control&#039;s DataTextField property is supplied by one DB column and the DataValueField property is supplied by another DB column.<BR><BR>The first time through it&#039;s cool because I&#039;m simply populating it. But on the "Edit Your Info, If Needed Page" the checkboxlist has to both bind to the DB plus show--as selected--those items the visitor chose on their first pass.<BR><BR>Before I considered the fact visitor&#039;s could update their info, I figured I&#039;d to take their selected items, create a *single* comma separated string from them, and then write the string to a field in the DB.<BR><BR>On the edit page, I would query the DB&#039;s look-up table for the full list of possible choices plus query their visitor table for the CSV string. I would then populate the checkboxlist with the full list query plus somehow iterate through the CSV string and select those items within the already created checkboxlist.<BR><BR>Is my thinking correct? If so, can someone point me in the direction of how to do what I just described (I can query, the problem is showing as selected the items named in the CSV string).

Default Nope, bad bad design.