How to preserve Array values and bulk copy to data

Thread: How to preserve Array values and bulk copy to data

Default How to preserve Array values and bulk copy to data

Hello,<BR><BR>I am a newbie to C# and was looking into solution for doing something like that stated below:<BR><BR>- Have a delimited text file that needs to be copied to a table in the database. <BR><BR>- To establish this I have the below code:<BR><BR>/******************start code *************************/<BR>FileStream fsConfigFile = new FileStream(feedfile, FileMode.Open);<BR>StreamReader srConfigFile = new StreamReader(fsConfigFile);<BR>string configFileText;<BR>string delimeter = "&#124";<BR>char[] del = delimeter.ToCharArray();<BR> <BR>while ((configFileText = srConfigFile.ReadLine()) != null)<BR>{<BR> string[]feedcolumn = configFileText.Split(del); <BR> <BR> foreach(string i in feedcolumn)<BR> {<BR> Console.WriteLine(i); <BR> <BR> }<BR>}<BR><BR>/******************end code ****************************/<BR><BR>- As the source file is huge I am not in favour of doing a insert into table for every line I read. Need to store all the records in an array and then do a one time opening and writing to the table. <BR><BR>- Since there is nothing like Redim Preserve in C# how do I go about the above, seemingly simple operation through C#<BR><BR>Any lead or to articles that discuss this issue will be greatly appreciated.<BR><BR>Thanks<BR>GI

Default Well, perhaps you aren't aware...