request.form syntax problems

Thread: request.form syntax problems

Default request.form syntax problems

I am having trouble getting the correct syntax on this query. I am a beginner at ASP and SQL. The query should select records where the "Name" field is the same as the data posted from the previous web page&#039s form. E.G., the data is being sent like "/reports/home.asp?Name=McDonalds"<BR><BR>The query in the &#039home.asp&#039 page currently looks like this, but I can not figure out what I am doing wrong. Any help would be greatly appreciated:<BR><BR>&#060;%<BR>rs.Open "SELECT Name, WebsiteAddress, Telephone, TickerSymbol FROM CORPORATESUMMARY WHERE Name = request.form(Name)", conn<BR>%&#062;

Default RE: request.form syntax problems

VBScript, unfortunately, does not do variable interpretation<BR>within double quotation marks (like PerlScript does). So,<BR>your sql statement is telling the database to look for a<BR>name that equals, literally, request.form(Name).<BR><BR>rs.Open "SELECT Name, WebsiteAddress, Telephone, TickerSymbol FROM CORPORATESUMMARY WHERE Name = request.form(Name)", conn<BR><BR>The proper syntax is:<BR><BR>rs.Open "SELECT Name, WebsiteAddress, Telephone, TickerSymbol FROM CORPORATESUMMARY WHERE Name = &#039" & request.form(Name) & "&#039", conn<BR><BR>request.form(Name) is evaluated and appended to the end of the<BR>string. Note also that whatever the value of request.form(Name)<BR>is needs to be included in single quotation marks for the sql statement to be valid (because Name is a string).<BR><BR><BR>Oliver

Nathan Pond Guest

use Request.QueryString("Name")<BR><BR>Request.Form is used when form data is submitted to that ASP page with the POST method. When the data is sent as part of the URL, like in your case, that is the GET method, which uses Request.QueryString. <BR><BR>Hope this helped<BR><BR>Nathan Pond

Yiftach Guest