Manipulating files .. Upload/download

Thread: Manipulating files .. Upload/download

Default Manipulating files .. Upload/download

I am completely new to ASP. However, i have this project i am working on, and i have mentioned the things i need to accomplish below. I would greatly appreciate any advice or help towards some good resources. <BR><BR>The books that i have at my disposal are:<BR>Active server pages 2.0 Pro, Sams teach your self asp in 24 hours. I also have javascript and html books (if that helps)<BR><BR>Background:<BR>I am trying to build a a webpage, where people will log in and then at the click of a button files are going to be sent back and forth between the client and server. (The user does not choose the files, but they are located in a certain dir which we just download from and upload to). I know exactly where the files will be in.. the exact directory structure. The files will be in multiple folders within the particular directory ( i know the names of the folders). The files will then be zipped up (probably across all the folders) and then transfered to the server. On the server side: the appropriate files will be uploaded onto the clients pc. All this will be done in SSL. <BR><BR>Questions:<BR>1. I know where the files are. How do i go about changing the directory on the client side to get into the right directory? How do i do the same thing on the server side? I was looking at FilesSystemObject but haven&#039;t had any luck with it. Any idea&#039;s appreciated.<BR><BR>2. I looked into trying to uploaddownload the files. However, from the books i have at my disposal, i can not find anything related to this. How would i go about doing something like this. Any books/websites/resources on this would be very helpful.<BR><BR>3. I need to zip and unzip files. I foundt he function dozip() fo zipping up files, however, have not found anything on unzipping. Any function or such i should be looking for in particular?<BR><BR>Your help would be greatly