10 records per page

Thread: 10 records per page

Ken Renwick Guest

Default 10 records per page

I am new to ASP and am trying to develop a page that shows 10 database records at a time.<BR>I have used the coding which appears at http://www.4guysfromrolla.com/webtech/121298-1.shtml as a basis.<BR><BR>However there are too many records for it to be practicable to scroll through each page hitting the next button. I have therefore set up an index page which passes an alpha parameter to the page (eg hit "a" and all records beginning with "a" are displayed).<BR><BR>This works fine for the first page but when you hit the "next" button subsequent pages fail because the alpha parameter is not maintained and passed with the instruction to go to the next page.<BR><BR>Hitting the "next" button needs to pass both parameters for the page to display properly. ie alpha and next page number.<BR><BR>Could someone please explain how to do this.<BR><BR>Here is the SQL I am using and the database is Access<BR><BR>Dim strSQL<BR>strSQL = "SELECT Trade.Business1, Trade.ID, Left([Business1],1) AS Alpha FROM Trade WHERE Left([Business1],1)=" & strAlpha<BR><BR>Thanks in advance<BR><BR>Ken Renwick

Default RE: 10 records per page