Connecting to multiple tables

Thread: Connecting to multiple tables

Yog Guest

Default Connecting to multiple tables

I have a search text box and i need to search more than 5 tables for the value in the text box(and obviously all the fields in the tables).How do i frame my query accordingly...<BR>i am relatively new to asp....please guide me on the same.

Default RE: Connecting to multiple tables

Hi.<BR><BR>A simple way to do this is to connect 5 times (one for each table) and return a recordset for each one (of that is what you want).<BR><BR>Or, if possible, use the JOIN-command in the SQL-string, but if you are a beginner that might not be the best thing.<BR><BR>A third way to do it (if you are using an Access-database) is to make a Question in the database that you call and that Question search all the tables for the word(s) you are looking for. I have never tried this tho so I dont know if It works....but that is not a good solution for a beginner.<BR><BR>Hope you can use some od what I wrote.

Default RE: Connecting to multiple tables