Favorites Manager

Thread: Favorites Manager

Default Favorites Manager

I want to move beyond my e-commerce store. And so I have come up with a<BR>piece of software I would like to write. After doing some more<BR>brainstorming I feel I want to write a Distributed Application using VB.net, XML, and SQL Server<BR>2000. Possibly (ASP.NET for website interface).<BR><BR>Without going into what the program IS, would it be possible to tell me<BR>where to start?<BR><BR>I am studying Beginning Visual Basic.net (wrox book) but I also at the same<BR>time want to get started on the core of the program. I have built a simple<BR>form and learned how to add the File Menu, Context menus etc. I can Open a<BR>text file in the VB.net app and write to it, save it, exit the program etc.<BR><BR>More specifically, (if I am on the right track) how would I write to an XML<BR>file instead of a .txt file?<BR><BR>Say in my application the user creates 50 categories with many parameters<BR>describing the category or giving information about the category. I would<BR>not want 50 xml files I would want them stored in some sort of client<BR>database?<BR><BR>While I have considered that the application would allow *ALL* clients to<BR>connect to a central SQL Server that seems both unstable and unsecure, how<BR>do I get around that if I want to allow *ALL* clients to share each other&#039;s<BR>data?<BR><BR>I can see that I need to write the Interface in VB.NET store the immediate<BR>data in XML/SQL... I think the application idea goes beyond peer to peer /<BR>client to server relationships which is why I mention I think it should be a<BR>Distributed Application meaning all of the Internet is it&#039;s playground.<BR><BR>Can anyone help get a young programmer straightened out and on the correct<BR>path?<BR><BR>Thanks.<BR>Daniel<BR><BR>

Default RE: Favorites Manager