ASP is dark...another developer drops out!

Thread: ASP is dark...another developer drops out!

Default ASP is dark...another developer drops out!

I invite all my friends to discuss a few facts here about ASP.<BR>This is an ASP message board and I realize that lot many ASP fans will get something bad<BR>as I proceed. but shouldn&#039;t we be reallistic?<BR><BR>I am an ameteur ASP developer who learnt this language for my satisfaction about the<BR>&#039;dynamic-ness&#039; of my web works. I don&#039;t claim that I have learnt everthing in the past<BR>one year since I started ASP, but some dark sides about it are really pessimistic.<BR><BR>What i think is, if you want to do petty jobs, like connecting to databases, <BR>running counters etc the language is fine but what about the advanced features?<BR><BR>1. The first thing i wanted to do (in which I got disappointed was sending mail.)<BR>ASP needs components... what the hell! I always like my works to be visible to the<BR>world. My web host is really co-operative in nature but there are limits. He does not<BR>like to execute my instructions of running regsvr32 etc again and again just to keep me happy.<BR>Why something like CDONTS is not built in the IIS. Someone would say, yes yes with the SMTP service it is there. Uh? But what would I develop applications on my computer for test, if I like Win-XP. What the hell that CDONTS does? <BR><BR>2. Second problem is the POP mail, any other way to receive mail without those components<BR>like Zaks POP 3 etc. I don&#039;think so. ASP is dark! Okay my web host registered it for me<BR>on his server.<BR><BR>3. I wanted my website viewers to upload some files/pictures etc on my space online.<BR>No..No! You need a component to upload your files like smartaspupload.dll. I created my<BR>own component malikftp.dll. My web host said "I wont register it for you", he was fed up<BR>by my daily questions and regsvr32 requests. Okay another way is Scripting but there is a checklist of comp