Online newspaper - design question

Thread: Online newspaper - design question

Default Online newspaper - design question

I am currently working on revising an online version of a college newspaper, and I am trying to decide how I want to manage the articles. Right now they have almost 10,000 old articles in html. Would it be a better idea to store the entire article text in a SQL DB or keep the articles in seperate text files? Keeping them in files would get rid of all text formatting issues I would have when trying to put them into the db, but I also need to be able to search and constantly access all of the articles, and I&#039m thinking that opening and searching over 10,000 text files for a string would not be the best idea. I can think of several ways to do it, but since I am kind of new to asp and this web site needs to be easily updated and changed by anyone (since people come and go quite frequently here), I want to make sure I do it the best way in terms of efficiency and ease of use.<BR>Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Default RE: Online newspaper - design question