Using Autonumber fields as primary keys

Thread: Using Autonumber fields as primary keys

Default Using Autonumber fields as primary keys

As a database consultant I have noticed that there seem to be two schools of thought about determining the primary key of a table. <BR><BR>The "Autonumber" camp, so to speak, assumes that every table should implement an autonumber field as primary key and that this key should be used as a foreign key in other tables. The advantages often stated are:<BR><BR>- Integer joins are faster than character field joins<BR>- Users are insulated from the key making every column mutable<BR>- Where clauses are shorter <BR>- SQL server uses this method in the system tables demonstrating this concepts validity<BR><BR>The "Use Data Columns" camp assumes primary keys should be implemented on tables based on the combined columns which make each row unique.<BR><BR>When I first began designing databases I was lured into the "Autonumber" camp but experience has taught me that this is a hack, bad form and in general wrong, I&#039;ll explain why. Refuting the "advantages" stated above:<BR><BR>- Integer joins might be faster than character joins yet in practice where clauses will contain data column values anyway, forcing the query optimizer to search on the data column. An index would speed this up in which case the join is using the indexed character column which we wanted to avoid in the first place.<BR><BR>- Users are able to modify key columns in a properly structured database using cascading updates/deletes on all the related foreign keys in other tables. As an aside, using an autonumber field PK allows duplicate rows in tables invalidating entity integrity thus forcing implementation of EI through triggers or some other ruse.<BR><BR>- Where clauses may be shorter but it is inherently difficult to decipher the true meaning of the integer id values as their meaning is originally based on the order in which the rows are inserted rather than the intri