Need help with creating a banner rotator

Thread: Need help with creating a banner rotator

Saturnino Guest

Default Need help with creating a banner rotator

I am kinda new to ASP and am having a bit of trouble creating the banner rotator that was mentioned in one of the 4guysfromrolla&#039s articles(http://www.4guysfromrolla.com/webtech/061399-4.shtml). I made the Banners.txt file like they said(check it out at www.blackvortex.com/banners.txt), I got and edited all the files that it said I needed(banner.asp, adredir.asp, report.asp) and I created the 2 directories that it said I needed(clicks and clickthrus). After I did all that I needed I created a page to test to see if the banner system was working(www.blackvortex.com/newbannertest.asp) but alas, it wasn&#039t. If you go to the test page it says that "Server.CreateObject failed". I talked to a friend with more experience with asp than me and he said to make sure that the clicks and clickthrus driectories had read/write permission. I e-mailed the people that host my web page and they gave both of them read/write permission. I tried the test page again after the directories were read/write enabled but it still gives the same error. I also noticed that only 1 banner shows up(out of the 7 I have defined in the banners.txt) even though it is weighted equally with the others. If anyone could help me with my problem I would be very grateful. Thanks.

Default RE: Need help with creating a banner rotator