SQL stored procedure to ASP recordset via VB dll

Thread: SQL stored procedure to ASP recordset via VB dll

Julie Watson Guest

Default SQL stored procedure to ASP recordset via VB dll

I’ve been working on this for some time and cannot seem to figure this out. I guess you can say I’m stumped. I’m an experienced VB programmer, but fairly new to SQL Server and Visual Interdev. I have the VS 6.0<BR><BR>I have created a basic table in SQL 7.0. It has a few fields for FirstName, LastName, HomePhone, CellPhone, and Pager. It also has an autoindex field as an integer. I created 4 stored procedures. One to return all records, one to return records filterd by last name, one to return a record by the index number, and one to update a record using the index. These work fine.<BR><BR>Next I created a VB dll. I eventually plan to put it in Transaction server, but for now it is registered on my local machine. I created a function to return records using the stored procedure that filters by last name. I also created a public property in which I store the last name I want to search for. Here is my VB dll code:<BR><BR>&#039local variable(s) to hold property value(s)<BR>Private mvarFilterName As String &#039local copy<BR>&#039local variable(s) to hold property value(s)<BR><BR>Public Function GetPhoneList() As String<BR> GetPhoneList = mvarFilterName & " returned"<BR>End Function<BR>Public Function GetARS() As ADODB.Recordset<BR>Dim dEnv As DataEnvironment1 &#039Our data environment<BR>Dim newStr As String<BR>Dim myset As New ADODB.Recordset<BR><BR>newStr = mvarFilterName<BR><BR>&#039Create an instance of the data environment<BR>Set dEnv = New DataEnvironment1<BR><BR>&#039Execute the data environment commane<BR>dEnv.dbo_usp_filteredlist newStr<BR><BR>Set myset = dEnv.rsdbo_usp_FilteredList<BR>mvarFilterName = myset!Firstname<BR>Set GetARS = myset<BR>dEnv.Connection1.Close<BR><BR><BR>End Function<BR>Public Function GetRS() As String<BR>Dim dEnv As DataEnvironment1 &#039Our data environ