Default if YourFault if you Falter

Thread: Default if YourFault if you Falter

Default Default if YourFault if you Falter

By default, Access puts a default value of 0 (zero) in a number field (in the event that no value is entered for that field, when a record is added).<BR><BR>I changed this so that it would just leave it blank instead. Does the database work faster if a default value of zero is entered instead of leaving it blank? I have not noticed any differences, but I have heard that it is not good to have a lot of blank fields in a database.<BR><BR>What do you think?

Default RE: Default if YourFault if you Falter

From what I understand (I am no expert on this by far) access uses the same amount of disk space for a zero as it does for null or 655,360. there should be no speed change either way (if there is you would need to time by nano seconds to notice it)...<BR><BR>Flame me if I am wrong, but thats the way I have understood it since "Introduction to Microsoft Access - 101". of cource my teacher in that class had trouble finding the power button on his I-Mac at home, so take this info with a grain of salt. (O;,`

Default Surely doesn't matter...